IMLS Calls for 2011 Museums for America Grant Applications

August 31, 2010
 
 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

IMLS Press Contacts
202-653-4632
Jeannine Mjoseth, jmjoseth@imls.gov
Mamie Bittner, mbittner@imls.gov

Washington, DC—The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) is accepting applications to its largest museum grant program, Museums for America (MFA), for fiscal year 2011. Museums for America grants provide up to $150,000 in funding and support projects that strengthen a museums capacity to serve its community.

Museums for America grants are awarded in the following areas:

  1. Engaging communities (education, exhibition, and interpretation)
  2. Building institutional capacity (management, policy, and training)
  3. Collections stewardship (management of collections)

Through these broad categories, IMLS supports a full range of museum activities including digitization of collections, staff training, research, exhibitions, educational programs, Web site enhancement and development, collections management, and other similar activities.

MFA grants are available to museums of all types and sizes that fulfill the eligibility criteria and are located in the United States or its territories. Applicants are required to demonstrate that proposed grant activities are clearly linked to the institution?s strategic plan and will enhance the museum?s ties and value to its community.

Webinars with MFA Grants Staff
Learn more about the MFA program at one of IMLS?s upcoming webinars. MFA program staff will talk about the grant program, the grant application process, and answer participants? questions during two September webinars.

The webinar schedule is:

Monday, September 13, 2010 at 3 pm Eastern Time

Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 3 pm Eastern Time

Webinar link: http://instmus.acrobat.com/mfa-applicants/

Conference call number: 1-888-850-4523; Participant Passcode: 761243

Test your computers compatibility with Adobe Connect Pro by visiting the following link: http://my.adobe.acrobat.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm. We recommend you do this well before the conference begins.

Participants may begin logging in to the webinar up to 10 minutes prior to the conference start time. We recommend you log in to the webinar before calling the conference call line. If you do not have a computer available, you may participate solely through the conference call line.

Application guidelines and instructions are available here. Please direct any questions about the MFA program to Sandra Narva, senior program officer, 202-653-4634, snarva@imls.gov ; Steve Shwartzman, senior program officer, 202-653-4641, sshwartzman@imls.gov; Reagan Moore, program specialist, 202-653-4637, rmoore@imls.gov; or Allison Boals, program specialist, 202-653-4702, aboals@imls.gov.

 

About the Institute of Museum and Library Services
The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation's 123,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. The Institute's mission is to create strong libraries and museums that connect people to information and ideas. The Institute works at the national level and in coordination with state and local organizations to sustain heritage, culture, and knowledge; enhance learning and innovation; and support professional development. To learn more about the Institute, please visit www.imls.gov.