State Programs - State Libraries

For more information on how State Program funds are put to work in your state, contact your State Library Agency. Contact information for the Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLAs), as well as links to State Library Agency Web sites, are provided below.

To find out how much your state has received from IMLS over the years, see the State Allotment Table.


Alabama
Dr. Nancy C. Pack
Director
Alabama Public Library Service
6030 Monticello Drive
Montgomery, AL 36130-6000
Phone: 334/213-3901
Fax: 334/213-3993
E-mail: npack@apls.state.al.us
http://statelibrary.alabama.gov/Content/Index.aspx

Alaska
Ms. Linda S. Thibodeau
State Librarian and Director
Alaska Department of Education, Division of Libraries, Archives & Museums
P.O. Box 110571
Juneau, AK 99811-0571
Phone: 907/465-2911
Fax: 907/465-2151
E-mail: linda.thibodeau@alaska.gov
http://library.state.ak.us

American Samoa
Ms. Cheryl Morales
Territorial Librarian
Feleti Barstow Public Library
P.O. Box 997687
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: 011/684/633-5616
Fax: 011/684/633-5823
E-mail: feletibarstow@yahoo.com
http://fbpl.org/

Arizona
Ms. Joan Clark
State Librarian
Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records
1700 West Washington, Room 200
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602/926-4035
Fax: 602/256-7983
E-mail: jclark@azlibrary.gov
http://www.lib.az.us

Arkansas
Ms. Carolyn Ashcraft
State Librarian
Arkansas State Library
900 W. Capitol, Suite 100
Little Rock, AR 72201-3108
Phone: 501/682-1526
Fax: 501/682-1899
E-mail: carolyn@library.arkansas.gov
http://www.asl.lib.ar.us

California
Mr. Greg Lucas
State Librarian of California
California State Library
P.O. Box 942837
Sacramento, CA 94237-0001
Phone: 916/323-9750
Fax: 916/323-9768
E-mail: Greg.Lucas@library.ca.gov
http://www.library.ca.gov

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Mr. John Oliver Gonzales
Executive Director
CNMI Joeten-Kiyu Public Library
P.O. Box 501092
Saipan, MP 96950-1092
Phone: 670/235-7324
Fax: 670/235-7550
E-mail: joetenkiyupubliclibrary@gmail.com
http://www.cnmilibrary.com/

Colorado
Mr. Eugene Hainer
Director and State Librarian
Colorado State Library
201 East Colfax Avenue
Room 309
Denver, CO 80203-1799
Phone: 303/866-6733
Fax: 303/866-6940
E-mail: hainer_g@cde.state.co.us
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdelib/

Connecticut
Mr. Kendall F. Wiggin
State Librarian
Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106-1537
Phone: 860/757-6510
Fax: 860/757-6503
E-mail: kendall.wiggin@ct.gov
http://www.cslib.org

Delaware
Dr. Annie Norman
State Librarian and Director
Delaware Division of Libraries
121 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. N
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302/257-3001
Fax: 302/739-8436
E-mail: annie.norman@state.de.us
http://www.state.lib.de.us/

District of Columbia
Mr. Richard Reyes-Gavilan
Executive Director
District of Columbia Public Library
901 G Street, NW
Suite 400
Washington, DC 20001-4599
Phone: 202/727-1101
Fax: 202/727-1129
E-mail: rrg@dc.gov
http://www.dclibrary.org

Federated States of Micronesia
Augustine Kohler
Acting Director
National Archives, Culture & Historic Preservation
P.O. Box PS 175
Palikir, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Phone: 011/691/320-2343
Fax: 011/691/320-5634
E-mail: hpo@mail.fm
http://www.fsmgov.org/

Florida
Ms. Judith A. Ring
State Librarian
Division of Library and Information Services
R.A. Gray Building
500 S. Bronough St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
Phone: 850/245-6604
Fax: 850/488-2746
E-mail: jring@dos.state.fl.us
http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/Library/

Georgia
Ms. Julie Walker
State Librarian
Georgia Public Library Services
1800 Century Place
Suite 150
Atlanta, GA 30345-4304
Phone: 404/235-7140
Fax: 404/235-7201
E-mail: jwalker@georgialibraries.org
http://www.georgialibraries.org

Guam
Ms. Sandra Stanley
Administrative Officer
Guam Public Library System
254 Martyr Street
Hagatna, Guam 96910-5141
Phone: 671/475-4765
Fax: 671/477-9777
E-mail: sandra.stanley@gpls.guam.gov
http://gpls.guam.gov/

Hawaii
Mr. Richard Burns
State Librarian
Hawaii State Public Library System
44 Merchant Street
Honolulu, HI 96813-4311
Phone: 808/586-3704
Fax: 808/586-3715
E-mail: stlib@librarieshawaii.org
http://www.librarieshawaii.org

Idaho
Ms. Ann Joslin
State Librarian
Idaho Commission for Libraries
325 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702-6072
Phone: 208/334-2150
Fax: 208/334-4016
E-mail: ann.joslin@libraries.idaho.gov
http://libraries.idaho.gov/

Illinois
Ms. Anne Craig
Director
Illinois State Library
300 South Second Street
Springfield, IL 62701-1703
Phone: 217/782-2994
Fax: 217/785-4326
E-mail: acraig@ilsos.net
http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/library/home.html

Indiana
Mr. Jacob Speer
Director and State Librarian
Indiana State Library
315 W. Ohio Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: 317/232-3693
Fax: 317/232-3728
E-mail: jspeer1@library.in.gov
http://www.in.gov/library

Iowa
Ms. Barbara Corson
Interim State Librarian
State Library of Iowa
1112 East Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: 515/281-4105
Fax: 515/281-6191
E-mail: barb.corson@lib.state.ia.us
http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/

Kansas
Ms. Jo Budler
State Librarian
State Library of Kansas
300 SW 10th Avenue
Room 312-N
Topeka, KS 66612-1593
Phone: 785/296-5466
Fax: 785/296-6650
E-mail: jo.budler@library.ks.gov
http://www.kslib.info

Kentucky
Mr. Wayne Onkst
State Librarian and Commissioner
Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives
300 Coffee Tree Road
P.O. Box 537
Frankfort, KY 40602-0537
Phone: 502/564-8300 x 312
Fax: 502/564-5773
E-mail: wayne.onkst@ky.gov
http://www.kdla.ky.gov

Louisiana
Ms. Rebecca Hamilton
State Librarian
State Library of Louisiana
P.O. Box 131
701 N. Fourth Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0131
Phone: 255/342-4923
Fax: 255/219-4804
E-mail: rhamilton@crt.state.la.us
http://www.state.lib.la.us

Maine
Mrs. Linda Lord
State Librarian
Maine State Library
64 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0064
Phone: 207/287-5620
Fax: 207/287-5624
E-mail: linda.lord@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/msl/

Maryland
Ms. Irene Padilla
Assistant State Superintendent for Libraries
Maryland State Department of Education
Division of Library Development & Services
200 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410/767-0435
Fax: 410/333-2507
E-mail: ipadilla@msde.state.md.us
http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/divisions/library/

Massachusetts
Ms. Dianne Carty
Director
Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners
98 North Washington Street, Suite 401
Boston, MA 02114-1933
Phone: 617/725-1860 x 222
Fax: 617/725-0140
E-mail: dianne.carty@state.ma.us
http://mblc.state.ma.us

Michigan
Mr. Randy Riley
State Librarian
Library of Michigan
702 West Kalamazoo Street
P.O. Box 30007
Lansing, MI 48909-7507
Phone: 517/373-5860
Fax: 517/373-5700
E-mail: rileyr1@michigan.gov
www.michigan.gov/libraryofmichigan

Minnesota
Ms. Jennifer R. Nelson
Director of State Library Services
Minnesota State Library Agency
Division of State Library Services
MN Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN 55113-4266
Phone: 651/582-8791
Fax: 651/582-8752
E-mail: jennifer.r.nelson@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/StuSuc/Lib/StateLibServ/index.html

Mississippi
Ms. Susan Cassagne
Executive Director
Mississippi Library Commission
3881 Eastwood Drive
Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: 601/432-4039
Fax: 601/432-4480
E-mail: susan@mlc.lib.ms.us
http://www.mlc.lib.ms.us

Missouri
Ms. Barbara A. Reading
State Librarian
Missouri State Library
600 West Main
P.O. Box 387
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0387
Phone: 573/526-4783
Fax: 573/751-3612
E-mail: barbara.reading@sos.mo.gov
http://www.sos.mo.gov/library

Montana
Ms. Jennie Stapp
State Librarian
Montana State Library
1515 East 6th Avenue
Post Office Box 201800
Helena, MT 59620-1800
Phone: 406/444-3116
Fax: 406/444-0266
E-mail: jstapp2@mt.gov
http://msl.mt.gov/

Nebraska
Mr. Rodney G. Wagner
Director
Nebraska Library Commission
The Atrium
1200 N Street, Suite 120
Lincoln, NE 68508-2023
Phone: 402/471-4001
Fax: 402/471-2083
E-mail: rod.wagner@nebraska.gov
http://www.nlc.nebraska.gov

Nevada
Ms. Daphne DeLeon
State Library and Archives Administrator
Nevada State Library & Archives
100 North Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89710-4285
Phone: 775/684-3315
Fax: 775/684-3311
E-mail: ddeleon@admin.nv.gov
http://nsla.nevadaculture.org/

New Hampshire
Mr. Michael York
State Librarian
New Hampshire State Library
20 Park Street
Concord, NH 03301-6314
Phone: 603/271-2397
Fax: 603/271-6826
E-mail: Michael.York@dcr.nh.gov
http://www.state.nh.us/nhsl

New Jersey
Ms. Mary Chute
State Librarian
New Jersey State Library, an affiliate of Thomas Edison State College
P.O. Box 520
Trenton, NJ 08625-0520
Phone: 609/278-2640 x101
Fax: 609/278-2652
E-mail: mchute@njstatelib.org
http://www.njstatelib.org

New Mexico
Mr. Michael Delello
Interim State Librarian and Deputy Cabinet Secretary of the Department of Cultural Affairs
New Mexico State Library
1209 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone: 505/827-6354
Fax: 505/476-9761
E-mail: michael.delello@state.nm.us
http://www.nmstatelibrary.org/

New York
Mr. Bernard A. Margolis
State Librarian and Assistant Commissioner for Libraries
New York State Library
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue, Room 10C34
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: 518/486-4865
Fax: 518/486-6880
E-mail: bmargolis@mail.nysed.gov
http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/

North Carolina
Ms. Caroline "Cal" Shepard
State Librarian
State Library of North Carolina
Administrative Section
4640 Mail Service Center
109 East Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27699-4640
Phone: 919/807-7410
Fax: 919/733-8748
E-mail: cal.shepard@ncdcr.gov
http://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov

North Dakota
Ms. Mary J. Soucie
State Librarian
North Dakota State Library
604 E. Boulevard Avenue
Dept. 250
Bismarck, ND 58505-0800
Phone: 701/328-2492
Fax: 701/328-2040
E-mail: msoucie@nd.gov
http://ndsl.lib.state.nd.us/

Ohio
Ms. Beverly Cain
State Librarian
State Library of Ohio
274 East First Avenue
Suite 100
Columbus, OH 43201
Phone: 614/644-6843
Fax: 614/466-3584
E-mail: bcain@library.ohio.gov
http://www.library.ohio.gov/

Oklahoma
Ms. Susan C. McVey
Director
Oklahoma Department of Libraries
200 N.E. 18th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3298
Phone: 405/522-3173
Fax: 405/522-1077
E-mail: smcvey@oltn.odl.state.ok.us
http://www.odl.state.ok.us

Oregon
Ms. MaryKay Dahlgreen
State Librarian
Oregon State Library
250 Winter Street, N.E.
Salem, OR 97310-3950
Phone: 503/378-4367
Fax: 503/585-8059
E-mail: marykay.dahlgreen@state.or.us
http://oregon.gov/OSL/

Pennsylvania
Ms. Stacey Aldrich
Deputy Secretary of Education & Commissioner for Libraries
Pennsylvania Office of Commonwealth Libraries
607 South Drive
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0600
Phone: 717/783-2466
Fax: 717/772-3265
E-mail: saldrich@pa.gov
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/bureau_of_state_library/8811

Puerto Rico
Mr. Miguel A. Hernández
Director
Library and Information Services Program
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Post Office Box 190759
San Juan, PR 00919-0759
Phone: 787/773-3564
Fax: 787753-6945
E-mail: hernandez_mi@de.gobierno.pr
http://www.de.gobierno.pr/tags/bibliotecas

Republic Of Marshall Islands
Ms. Amenta Matthew
Executive Director
Alele Museum, Library, National Archives
P.O. Box 629
Majuro, MH 96960
Phone: 011/692/455-5707
Fax: 011/692/625-3226
E-mail: alelemuseum@gmail.com
http://alelemuseum.tripod.com/Index.html

Republic of Palau
Mr. Sinton Soalablai
Chief of School Management
Palau Ministry of Education
P.O. Box 189
Koror, PW 96940
Phone: 011/680/-488-2952
Fax: 011/680/488-8465
E-mail: ssoalablai@palaumoe.net
http://palaugov.org/division-of-chool-management/

Rhode Island
Ms. Karen Mellor
Acting Chief Library Officer
Rhode Island Office of Library & Information Services
One Capitol Hill, Second Floor
Providence, RI 02908-5803
Phone: 401/574-9304
Fax: 401/574-9320
E-mail: Karen.Mellor@olis.ri.gov
http://www.olis.ri.gov

South Carolina
Ms. Leesa Benggio
Interim Director
South Carolina State Library
1430 Senate Street
PO Box 11469
Columbia, SC 29211
Phone: 803/734-8668
Fax: 803/734-8676
E-mail: lbenggio@statelibrary.sc.gov
http://www.statelibrary.sc.gov

South Dakota
Ms. Daria Bossman
State Librarian
South Dakota State Library
MacKay Building
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501-2294
Phone: 605/773-3167
Fax: 605/773-6962
E-mail: daria.bossman@state.sd.us
http://library.sd.gov/

Tennessee
Mr. Chuck Sherrill
State Librarian & Archivist
Tennessee State Library & Archives
403 7th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37243-0312
Phone: 615/741-7996
Fax: 615/532-9293
E-mail: chuck.sherrill@tn.gov
http://www.tennessee.gov/tsla/

Texas
Mr. Mark Smith
Director & Librarian
Texas State Library & Archives Commission
1201 Brazos Street
P.O. Box 12927
Austin, TX 78711-2927
Phone: 512/463-6856
Fax: 512/463-5436
E-mail: msmith@tsl.state.tx.us
http://www.tsl.state.tx.us

Utah
Ms. Donna Jones Morris
Director and State Librarian
Utah State Library Division
250 North 1950 West
Suite A
Salt Lake City, UT 84116-7901
Phone: 801/715-6770
Fax: 801/715-6767
E-mail: dmorris@utah.gov
http://library.utah.gov/

Vermont
Ms. Martha Reid
State Librarian
Vermont Department of Libraries
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-0601
Phone: 802/828-3265
Fax: 802/828-2199
E-mail: Martha.reid@mail.dol.state.vt.us
http://dol.state.vt.us

Virgin Islands
Ms. Ingrid Bough
Territorial Director of Libraries, Archives & Museums
Department of Planning & Natural Resources
1122 King Street Christiansted
St. Croix, VI  00820
Phone: 340/773-3715
Fax: 340/773-5327
E-mail: ingrid.bough@dpnr.vi.gov
http://www.virginislandspace.org/Division%20of%20Libraries/dlamwhat'snew.htm

Virginia
Dr. Sandra G. Treadway
Librarian of Virginia
The Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219-8000
Phone: 804/692-3535
Fax: 804/692-3594
E-mail: sandra.treadway@lva.virginia.gov
http://www.lva.virginia.gov/

Washington
Dr. Rand Simmons
State Librarian
Washington State Library
Office of the Secretary of State
6880 Capitol Boulevard
P.O. Box 42460
Olympia, WA 98504-2460
Phone: 360/570-5585
Fax: 360/586-7575
E-mail: rand.simmons@sos.wa.gov
http://www.sos.wa.gov/library

West Virginia
Ms. Karen Goff
Director/State Librarian
West Virginia Library Commission
Cultural Center
1900 Kanawha Blvd., East
Charleston, WV 25305-0620
Phone: 304/558-2041
Fax: 304/558-2044
E-mail: karen.e.goff@wv.gov
http://www.librarycommission.wv.gov/

Wisconsin
Mr. Kurt Kiefer
Assistant State Superintendent
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Division for Libraries and Technology
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
Phone: 608/266-2205
Fax: 608/267-9207
E-mail: kurt.kiefer@dpi.wi.gov
http://dlt.dpi.wi.gov

Wyoming
Ms. Lesley Boughton
State Librarian
Wyoming State Library
2800 Central Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: 307/777-5911
Fax: 307/777-6289
E-mail: lbough@wyo.gov
http://www-wsl.state.wy.us/

Grant Search

Find Available Grants

 

Search Awarded Grants

Search our archive of grants awarded by the Institute. Search now

Extranet

State Libraries - log in to the State Grant Programs Manual online (password-protected). Log in

subscribe

Visit our Subscription Page to sign up to receive e-mail announcements, newsletters, and more from IMLS.