You are here

2017 National Medal for Museum and Library Service

Each year, the Institute of Museum and Library Services presents select museums and libraries with the nation’s highest honor, the National Medal for Museum and Library Service.

2017 National Medal Finalists

2017 National Medal Finalists


Haines Borough Public Library (Haines, Alaska)

Long Beach Public Library (Long Beach, California)

Sacramento Public Library (Sacramento, California)

Cedar Rapids Public Library (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)

Illinois Fire Service Institute Library (Champaign, Illinois)

Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library (Evansville, Indiana)

Terrebonne Parish Library System (Houma, Louisiana)

Waterville Public Library (Waterville, Maine)

University of Minnesota Libraries (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

Rochester Public Library (Rochester, Minnesota)

Charlotte Mecklenburg Library (Charlotte, North Carolina)

Tulsa City-County Library (Tulsa, Oklahoma)

James V. Brown Library (Williamsport, Pennsylvania)

Richland Library (Columbia, South Carolina)

George and Cynthia Woods Mitchell Library, Montgomery County Memorial Library System (The Woodlands, Texas)


Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (Alaska State Museums) (Juneau, Alaska)

Children's Museum Tucson (Tucson, Arizona)

Lawrence Hall of Science (Berkeley, California)

Pretend City Children’s Museum (Irvine, California)

Peralta Hacienda Historical Park (Oakland, California)

Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (San Diego, California)

Aspen Art Museum (Aspen, Colorado)

Orlando Science Center (Orlando, Florida)

Chicago Academy of Sciences/Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (Chicago, Illinois)

Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center (Skokie, Illinois)

Detroit Zoological Society (Royal Oak, Michigan)

Mississippi Children's Museum (Jackson, Mississippi)

Discovery Place (Charlotte, North Carolina)

Children's Museum of Manhattan (New York, New York)

Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum (Wausau, Wisconsin)