You are here

IMLS Focus 2015: The National Digital Platform

Date Time: 
April 28, 2015
Event Location: 
District of Columbia Public Library, Washington, DC

IMLS Focus logo

Links:

Agenda:

9:00 a.m. – 9:20 a.m. – Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • Speaker: Richard Reyes-Gavilan, Executive Director, DC Public Library
  • Introduced by: Maura Marx, Acting Director, IMLS, @imlsdirector

9:20 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. – Defining and Funding the National Digital Platform

  • Moderator: Trevor Owens, Senior Program Officer, IMLS, @tjowens
  • Panelists:
    • Brett Bobley, Chief Information Officer, National Endowment for the Humanities, @brettbobley
    • Amy Garmer, Director, Aspen Institute Dialogue on Public Libraries, @amygarmer
    • James G. Neal, University Librarian Emeritus, Columbia University

10:00 a.m. – 11:10 a.m. – The State of Distributed National Capacity

  • Moderator: Tom Scheinfeldt, Associate Professor, University of Connecticut, @foundhistory
  • Panelists:
    • Dan Cohen, Executive Director, Digital Public Library of America, @dancohen
    • Evelyn McLellan, President, Artefactual Systems Inc.
    • Sibyl Schaefer, Digital Preservation Analyst, University of California, San Diego, @archivelle
    • James Shulman, President, ARTstor, @jamesshulman

11:10 a.m. – 11:25 a.m. – Break

11:25 a.m. – 12:35 p.m. – Gaps in Distributed National Digital Capacity

  • Moderator: Katherine Skinner, Executive Director, Educopia Institute, @educopia
  • Panelists:
    • Karen Cariani, Director, WGBH Media Library and Archives, WGBH Educational Foundation
    • Sebastian Chan, Director, Digital & Emerging Technologies, Cooper-Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, @sebchan
    • Mike Furlough, Executive Director, HathiTrust, @MikeFurlough
    • Clifford Lynch, Executive Director, Coalition for Networked Information

12:35 p.m. – 1:35 p.m. – Lunch

1:00 p.m. – 1:20 p.m. – Focus on eBooks

  • Speakers:
    • Micah May, Director of Business Development, New York Public Library
    • Mary Minow, National Museum & Library Services Board Member

1:35 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. – Scaling up Practice

  • Moderator: Deanna Marcum, Managing Director, Ithaka S+R
  • Panelists:
    • Mary Flanagan, Professor, Dartmouth College, @criticalplay
    • Jon Voss, Director, Strategic Partnerships, Historypin, @jonvoss
    • Anne Wootton, CEO, Pop Up Archive, @annewootton
    • Trevor Muñoz, Assistant Dean, University of Maryland Libraries, @trevormunoz

2:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. – Break

3:00 p.m. – 4:10 p.m. – Cultivating Digital Library Professionals

  • Moderator: John Palfrey, President, Board of Directors, Digital Public Library of America, @jpalfrey
  • Panelists:
    • Andromeda Yelton, Owner, Small Beautiful Useful, LLC, @thatandromeda
    • Bethany Nowviskie, Director, Digital Library Federation, Council on Library and Information Resources, @nowviskie
    • Kim Schroeder, Lecturer, Wayne State University, School of Library and Information Science
    • Margo Padilla, Strategic Programs Manager, Metropolitan New York Library Council, @margo_padilla

4:10 p.m. – 4:20 p.m. – Going Forward

  • Speaker: David Ferriero, Archivist of the United States, @dferriero

4:20 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. – Closing Remarks

Programs: 
Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program
National Leadership Grants for Libraries
State: 
DC