You are here

2018 National Medal for Museum and Library Service

Each year, the Institute of Museum and Library Services presents select museums and libraries with the nation’s highest honor, the National Medal for Museum and Library Service.

2018 National Medal Finalists

2018 National Medal Finalists


  • Carson City Library (Carson City, NV)
  • Cuyahoga County Public Library (Parma, OH)
  • Georgetown Public Library (Georgetown, TX)
  • Ketchikan Public Library (Ketchikan, AK)
  • LA County Library (Los Angeles County, CA)
  • Mancos Public Library (Mancos, CO)
  • North Carolina Digital Heritage Center (Chapel Hill, NC)
  • Orange County Library System (Orlando, FL)
  • Pueblo City-County Library District (Pueblo, CO)
  • Reading Public Library (Reading, PA)
  • Rochester Public Library (Rochester, MN)
  • Sacramento Public Library (Sacramento, CA)
  • Terrebonne Parish Library (Houma, LA)
  • Wiggin Memorial Library (Stratham, NH)


  • 9/11 Memorial Museum at the World Trade Center (New York, NY)
  • Chicago Zoological Society/Brookfield Zoo (Brookfield, IL)
  • Children’s Museum of Denver at Marsico Campus (Denver, CO)
  • Detroit Historical Society (Detroit, MI)
  • El Paso Museum of Art (El Paso, TX)
  • High Desert Museum (Bend, OR)
  • History Museum at the Castle (Appleton, WI)
  • Missouri Historical Society (St. Louis, MO)
  • National Railroad Museum (Green Bay, WI)
  • Newark Museum (Newark, NJ)
  • Orlando Science Center (Orlando, FL)
  • Pretend City Children’s Museum (Irvine, CA)
  • Science Museum of Virginia (Richmond, VA)
  • South Carolina Aquarium (Charleston, SC)
  • University of Oregon Museum of Natural and Cultural History (Eugene, OR)
Content last reviewed on
March 5, 2018