You are here

Museums for America

Deadline: 
December 14, 2018
Grant Info: 

Application: The Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for FY 2019 (PDF 375KB) is now available.
Grant Amount: $5,000–$250,000
Grant Period: Up to three years

Cost Share Requirement: You must provide funds from non-federal sources in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount of your IMLS request.

Program Overview:
The Museums for America (MFA) program supports projects that strengthen the ability of an individual museum to serve its public. MFA has three project categories:

Lifelong Learning
Community Anchors and Catalysts
Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Eligibility: Museums that fulfill the eligibility criteria for museums may apply.

Program Contacts:
If you have questions, please contact any of the staff members listed under the category that best fits your project.

Lifelong Learning

Community Anchors and Catalysts

Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Sandra Narva
Senior Program Officer
snarva@imls.gov
202-653-4634

Steve Shwartzman
Senior Program Officer
sshwartzman@imls.gov
202-653-4641

Connie Bodner
Supervisory Grants Management Specialist
cbodner@imls.gov
202-653-4636

Reagan Moore
Museum Program Officer
rmoore@imls.gov
202-653-4637

Ashley Jones
Museum Program Specialist
ajones@imls.gov
202-653-4782

Mark Feitl
Museum Program Officer
mfeitl@imls.gov
202-653-4635

Webinars:

We invite you to view two pre-recorded webinars:
FY19 Choosing a Funding Opportunity: We recommend that you view this presentation before participating in a program-specific webinar.
FY19 IMLS Forms: This webinar provides detailed tips on completing required forms for all grant programs.

We invite you to view a pre-application webinar to learn more about the FY19 Museums for America program.

Learn more about accessing IMLS webinars at the bottom of the Events and Webinars page of the IMLS website.