April 21, 2015

Press Contact
Adrienne Lee
(202) 414-0788; alee@susandavis.com

Recipients of Nation’s Highest Museum and Library Honor Announced

National Medal for Museum and Library Service Recognizes Exceptional Community Contributions

national medalWashington, DC—The Institute of Museum and Library Services today announced the recipients of the 2015 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. For 21 years, the award has celebrated institutions that present extraordinary and innovative approaches to public service to make a difference for individuals, families, and communities. The award will be presented at an event in Washington, D.C., on May 18.

These ten honorees exemplify the nation’s great libraries and museums and demonstrate outstanding impact and quality of programs, services, and partnerships, exceeding the expected levels of community outreach. They were selected from thirty finalists that were among institutions from across the country that were nominated for the honor.

The 2015 winners of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service are:

  • Amazement Square (Lynchburg, VA)
  • Cecil County Public Library (Elkton, MD)
  • Craig Public Library (Craig, AK)
  • Embudo Valley Library and Community Center (Dixon, NM)
  • Los Angeles Public Library (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Louisiana Children’s Museum (New Orleans, LA)
  • Museum of Northern Arizona (Flagstaff, AZ)
  • New York Hall of Science (Queens, NY)
  • The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York, NY)
  • The Tech Museum of Innovation (San Jose, CA)

“These National Medal recipients have demonstrated a genuine understanding of their communities and are committed to addressing community needs,” said Maura Marx, acting director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services. “IMLS believes museums and libraries are vital community anchors that enhance civic engagement, cultural and educational opportunities, and economic vitality. The remarkable community contributions these institutions have made are proof positive of this.”

After the ceremony, StoryCorps—a national nonprofit dedicated to recording, preserving, and sharing the stories of Americans—will visit each recipient to document stories from the communities about the winning institutions.

The next deadline for nominating a museum or library is October 1, 2015. Learn more about the National Medal at www.imls.gov/medals

About the Institute of Museum and Library Services
The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 123,000 libraries and 35,000 museums. Our mission is to inspire libraries and museums to advance innovation, lifelong learning, and cultural and civic engagement. Our grant making, policy development, and research help libraries and museums deliver valuable services that make it possible for communities and individuals to thrive. To learn more, visit www.imls.gov and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

National Medal for Museum and Library Service