You are here

Museums for America

Deadline: 
December 15, 2018
Grant Info: 

Application: The Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for FY 2019 will be posted 60-90 days before the deadline. The NOFO for FY 2018 (PDF, 427KB) remains available for reference.
Grant Amount: $5,000–$250,000
Grant Period: Up to three years
Cost Share Requirement: You must provide funds from non-federal sources in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount of your IMLS request.

Program Overview: 
The Museums for America (MFA) program supports projects that strengthen the ability of an individual museum to serve its public. MFA has three project categories:

  • Lifelong Learning
  • Community Anchors and Catalysts
  • Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Eligibility: Museums that fulfill the eligibility criteria for museums may apply.

Program Contacts:
If you have questions, please contact any of the staff members listed under the category that best fits your project.

Museums for America Program Contacts

Lifelong Learning

Community Anchors and Catalysts

Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Sandra Narva
Senior Program Officer
snarva@imls.gov 
202-653-4634

Steve Shwartzman
Senior Program Officer
sshwartzman@imls.gov
202-653-4641

Connie Bodner
Supervisory Grants Management Specialist
cbodner@imls.gov
202-653-4636

Reagan Moore
Museum Program Officer
rmoore@imls.gov
202-653-4637

Ashley Jones
Museum Program Specialist
ajones@imls.gov
202-653-4782

Mark Feitl
Museum Program Officer
mfeitl@imls.gov
202-653-4635

Webinars:
Learn more about museum grant programs by participating in IMLS webinars.

A general presentation on IMLS museum grants. We recommend that you view this presentation before participating in a program-specific webinar. The FY 2019 webinar will be posted in August. This FY 2018 webinar remains available for reference.

FY18 Museums for America program webinar. The FY 2019 webinar will be posted in October. This FY 2018 webinar remains available for reference.