You are here

Museums for America

Grant Info: 

Deadline: The FY 2019 deadline was December 14, 2018.
Application: The FY 2019 Notice of Funding Opportunity (PDF 375KB) remains available for reference.
Grant Amount: $5,000–$250,000
Grant Period: Up to three years
Cost Share Requirement: You must provide funds from non-federal sources in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount of your IMLS request.

Program Overview:
The Museums for America program supports projects that strengthen the ability of an individual museum to serve its public. MFA has three project categories:

  • Lifelong Learning
  • Community Anchors and Catalysts
  • Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Eligibility: Museums that fulfill the eligibility criteria for museums may apply.

Program Contacts:
If you have questions, please contact any of the staff members listed under the category that best fits your project.

Lifelong Learning

Community Anchors and Catalysts

Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Sandra Narva
Senior Program Officer
snarva@imls.gov
202-653-4634

Steve Shwartzman
Senior Program Officer
sshwartzman@imls.gov
202-653-4641

Connie Bodner
Supervisory Grants Management Specialist
cbodner@imls.gov
202-653-4636

Reagan Moore
Museum Program Officer
rmoore@imls.gov
202-653-4637

Ashley Jones
Museum Program Specialist
ajones@imls.gov
202-653-4782

Mark Feitl
Museum Program Officer
mfeitl@imls.gov
202-653-4635

Webinars:

You may learn more about museum grant programs by viewing the following FY 2019 on-demand webinars. New webinars will be posted during the next open application period.

Choosing a Funding Opportunity for FY 2019, a general presentation on IMLS museum grants. We recommend that you view this presentation for an overview before considering a specific grant program. Please click here to access recordings in different formats, or to read the transcript.

Museums for America, information about this program for FY 2019. Please click here to access recordings in different formats, or to read the transcript.

To view all archived webinars, please click here.