March 28, 2023

Media Contacts:
Erica Jaros; 202-653-4701
Savannah Young; 202-248-5446

IMLS Names Finalists for 2023 National Medal for Museum and Library Service
#ShareYourStory will feature public testimonies of museum and library excellence

National Medal Museum and Library Service medallion

Washington, DC—The Institute of Museum and Library Services is pleased to announce 30 finalists for the 2023 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries that demonstrate excellence in service to their communities. Since 1996, the award has honored 182 institutions that demonstrated extraordinary and innovative approaches to public service.

“So many museums and libraries across the country are committed to providing programs that are vital to the health and growth of engaged communities. We are very proud to announce the 30 finalists for this year’s IMLS National Medal,” said IMLS Director Crosby Kemper. “These institutions represent the best of what museums and libraries do for their communities.”

Throughout April and May, IMLS will showcase the excellent community work of these institutions through its Share Your Story social media campaign. Anyone whose life has been touched by these museums or libraries is encouraged to share their memories and pictures and tag IMLS on TwitterFacebook and Instagram by using the hashtag #IMLSmedals.

IMLS congratulates the finalists for the 2023 National Medal for Museum and Library Service and thanks all those who applied. This year’s 30 finalists are:


  • Anaheim Public Library (Anaheim, CA)
  • Island Free Library (Block Island, RI)
  • Jeudevine Memorial Library (Hardwick, VT)
  • King County Library System (Issaquah, WA)
  • Kuskokwim Consortium Library (Bethel, AK)
  • LA County Library (Downey, CA)
  • Long Branch Free Public Library (Long Branch, NJ)
  • Miami-Dade Public Library System (Miami, FL)
  • Ocean County Library (Toms River, NJ)
  • Pottsboro Area Public Library (Pottsboro, TX)
  • San Mateo County Libraries (San Mateo, CA)
  • South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) (Philadelphia, PA)
  • Springfield Memorial Library (Springfield, NE)
  • Toledo Lucas County Public Library (Toledo, OH)
  • West Warwick Public Library (West Warwick, RI)


  • Arts & Education at the Hoyt (New Castle, PA)
  • Center of Science and Industry (COSI) (Columbus, OH)
  • Discovery Museum (Acton, MA)
  • Discovery Science Center of Los Angeles aka Discovery Cube (Sylmar, CA)
  • Fort Garland Museum and Cultural Center (Fort Garland, CO)
  • The Franklin Institute (Philadelphia, PA)
  • Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum (Buffalo, WY)
  • Museum of Discovery and Science (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
  • Museum of Us (San Diego, CA)
  • Oregon Jewish Museum and Center for Holocaust Education (Portland, OR)
  • Phillip and Patricia Frost Museum of Science (Miami, FL)
  • Riverside Art Museum (Riverside, CA)
  • Rubin Museum of Art (New York, NY)
  • Stax Museum of American Soul Music (Memphis, TN)
  • Ukrainian Museum Archives (Cleveland, OH)

National Medal winners will be announced in late May, with a ceremony and celebration to be held in Washington, DC this summer.

To learn more about the National Medals, visit the IMLS website.

About the Institute of Museum and Library Services
The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation's libraries and museums. We advance, support, and empower America's museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development. IMLS envisions a nation where individuals and communities have access to museums and libraries to learn from and be inspired by the trusted information, ideas, and stories they contain about our diverse natural and cultural heritage. To learn more, visit and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

National Medal for Museum and Library Service