National Medal

The National Medal for Museum and Library Service is the nation’s highest honor for institutions that make significant and exceptional contributions to their communities. Since 1994, IMLS has presented the award to institutions that demonstrate extraordinary and innovative approaches to community service.

Nominations Now Open

The Institute of Museum and Library Services is now accepting nominations for the 2022 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor awarded to libraries and museums for service to their communities. Submissions are due by November 1, 2021. Click here to visit the nomination page.

2021 National Medal Winners Announced

The six recipients of the 2021 National Medal for Museum and Library Service were announced on May 18, 2021. These winners represent institutions that provide dynamic programming and services that exceed expected levels of service. View the press release here.

The 30 finalists for the 2021 Medals were announced on March 18.

2021 Virtual Award Ceremony

Watch the exciting virtual celebration of the 2021 National Medal for Museum and Library Service honoring their institutions, the Medals finalists, and library and museum staff all across the nation.

Celebrating 25 Years of National Medals

For more National Medals videos, view the playlist on the IMLS YouTube channel.

View Past Medal Recipients

Learn more about the museums and libraries who have previously been selected to receive a National Medal.